Research prizes

Photo: FSV / Hugger

First class!

We award two research prizes: the “Franz Steiner Preis fuer Transatlantische Geschichte” (Franz Steiner Prize in Transatlantic History) together with the GHI in Washington, and the “Martin Behaim Preis” jointly with the Gesellschaft fuer Ueberseegeschichte – GÜSG (Society for Overseas History). Why don’t you apply? 

Franz Steiner Prize in Transatlantic History 

Jointly with the German Historical Institute in Washington D.C., we award the “Franz Steiner Preis fuer Transatlantische Geschichte” (formerly: The “Franz Steiner Preis fuer deutsch-amerikanische Studien”) for an outstanding scholarly book manuscript in the field of transatlantic relations or North American Studies from the early modern period to the present. The award includes prize money of € 2,500.

Unpublished works in German or English will be considered for selection. The works must be recent. Master’s or Diploma theses are excluded from the awards process. The winning paper will be published in the series “Transatlantische historische Studien”. The selection committee consists of German and American scholars.

Please send your manuscript and a one-page abstract, as well as a letter of recommendation and your C.V. to:

The German Historical Institute Washington D.C.
– Franz Steiner Prize –
1607 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.
Washington D.C. 20009

Questions can be directed to the Deputy Director at the GHI, PD Dr. Axel Jansen:

Go to > Transatlantische historische Studien

Martin Behaim-Prize

Together with the “Gesellschaft fuer Globalgeschichte e.V.” GÜSG (Society for Global History), we award the annual Martin Behaim Prize, endowed with up to € 2,000, which is awarded for the publication of a dissertation in our programme. Any printing costs over and above the prize money will be covered by us. The prize is awarded for outstanding work in the field of global history. Applicants with relevant dissertation topics from the neighbouring disciplines of Ethnology, Theology, Sociology and Political Science may also apply.

Exceptionally good dissertations not older than two years and not yet published can be submitted. Please send proposals to the first chairperson of the Society for Global History:

Prof. Dr. Mark Haeberlein 
Otto-Friedrich-Universitaet Bamberg 
Institut fuer Geschichtswissenschaften 
LS für Neuere Geschichte 
Fischstr. 5–7 
96047 Bamberg


Together with the “Internationalen Vereinigung fuer Rechts- und Sozialphilosophie” - IVR (International Association for Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy) the Franz Steiner Verlag awards the ARSP Prize for the best article in the journal “Archiv fuer Rechts- und Sozialphilosophie” - ARSP (Archive for Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy).

The prize of € 500 is awarded every two years at the IVR World Congress. The winner is chosen by a jury consisting of the ARSP editorial board and the IVR committee. It is not possible to apply for the award.

Go to > Archiv fuer Rechts- und Sozialphilosophie.